Home > Schools > South Central Elementary
South Central Elementary
 
 
 
Staff
Cafe

Student Handbook

Health Services
Guidance
Library
Academics
South Central in the News
South Central Gallery
Calendar


 

 

 

 

 

Welcome to South Central Elementary School

South Central Elementary is located in Washington County, just off Interstate 79 in Canonsburg, PA. Although it is the largest elementary building in the Canon-McMillan district, our school offers the charm of a closely-knit  neighborhood learning center. 

Everyday 430 smiling faces walk through the front doors into our beautifully remodeled building to receive a state of the art educational experience.

Using the 5 computers available in every room, our highly skilled teachers in grades K-4 are able to integrate technology into daily lessons and are encouraged to hone their own skills though on-going district initiatives.  South Central teachers mix the use of innovative tools with old fashion teaching to deliver a competitive curriculum at each child’s own level. 

To meet the needs of our diverse learners we offer the assistance of two special education teachers and para educators in a full inclusion setting. Additional support is provided through Autistic Support, Title I, and Reading Recovery programs. A comprehensive guidance curriculum, school nurse, speech and language therapist, English as a Second Language services are also available for our students. For those young learners who qualify - an extended day kindergarten program is offered.  Additionally, the SCOPE program is offered for those children identified as gifted.

South Central represents socioeconomic differences and cultural diversity working together for fun in learning. Our safe and nurturing environment centers around a Whale Done theme of conduct. Just as the trainers working with Shamu know - South Central recognizes that "nice matters." We make every effort to accentuate the positive, build trust and redirect energy when mistakes occur.

Stop in to visit and see for yourself what makes South Central a

WHALE DONE School!

 

Remind is a communication tool that we use at South Central to share messages via text to the family's cell phones.

To join the Principals' group, call: (724) 398-1460. Enter the message: @southce.

You can also register by visiting the link: www.remind.com/join/southce

If you wish to unlist your number reply to a message with the words: unsubscribe@southce.

 

WHAT IS COMING UP???
Thurs Aug 17 Kindergarten Orientation (Times TBD)
Mon Aug 28 First Day for Students
Mon Sept 4 NO SCHOOL Labor Day
Fri Sept 15 NO SCHOOL InService for Teachers
Wed Sept 20 School Picture Day
Thurs Sept 21 South Central's Open House
Fri Oct 13 1:30 Dismissal for Staff Development
Tues Oct 31 Halloween Parade and Parties (Times TBD)
Tues Nov 7 NO SCHOOL InService for Teachers
Wed Nov 8 1st 9 Weeks Report Cards Distributed

Thurs Nov 23-

Tues Nov 28

NO SCHOOL THANKSGIVING BREAK
Tues Nov 28 Parent / Teacher Conference Day

Mon Dec 25-

Mon Jan 1

NO SCHOOL WINTER BREAK
Tues Jan 2 BACK TO SCHOOL
Mon Jan 15 NO SCHOOL Martin Luther King, Jr Day
Fri Jan 19 NO SCHOOL Clerical for Teachers
Mon Jan 29 Report Cards
Mon Feb 19 NO SCHOOL Presidents' Day
All of MARCH Kindergarten Registration for 2018-2019
Fri March 2 NO SCHOOL Staff Development
Wed March 28 1:30 Dismissal for Staff Development
Thurs March 29-Tues April 3 NO SCHOOL SPRING BREAK
Mon April 9-13 PSSA ELA Testing Grades 3-8
Wed April 11 Report Cards Distributed
Mon April 16-20 PSSA MATH Testing Grades 3-8
Mon April 23-27 PSSA SCIENCE Testing Grades 4 & 8 only
Tues May 22 NO SCHOOL Kindergarten Screening InService
Mon May 28 NO SCHOOL MEMORIAL DAY
Thurs June 7 LAST DAY OF SCHOOL 11 AM DISMISSAL
* If school is cancelled, the make-up days will be in this order: 1/15, 2/19, 4/3, 3/29, 4/2. If any additional days are needed school will extend past June 1.

 

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-zSqQqA0XIFg/TZiOw20NlzI/AAAAAAAABL0/luFgA9aCZEg/s400/ckz8_girl6.png

 

Giant Eagle

Apples for the Students

Support South Central by enrolling your Giant Eagle Advantage Card and help us earn FREE educational awards with every shopping trip. Log on to:

www.gianteagle.com/schools/apples-for-students

South Central's ID # is "0997"

 

 

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_IEknwsQdvXE/Smngstq3V8I/AAAAAAAABAY/Wdy5ZZfaqwI/S187/cupcake.png

IMPORTANT!!!

The district has a strict policy on birthday treats!

Please note in the Canon-McMillan K-4 handbook: Students are only permitted to send in NON EDIBLE TREATS for a child's birthday celebration. Sorry, but we will have to ask you pick them up if treats are sent to school.

Due to our high number of food allergies, as well as special diet concerns, South Central will not support the distribution of edible items during holiday parties as well. This is for the safety of all of our students.

 

 

 

 

 

 



South Central Elementary


230 South Central Avenue
Canonsburg PA 15317
Phone: 724-745-4475
Fax: 724-873-5228

Principals

Mrs. Shannon Balch

Federal Programs Coordinator, Grade 4 Reading Support and Related Arts

balchs@cmsd.k12.pa.us

Image result for puzzle piece border clip art

Mrs. Michelle Tomicek

Grades K-3, Special Educaiton and Guidance Services


tomicekm@cmsd.k12.pa.us

Image result for puzzle piece border clip art

 

Secretary
Mrs. Tacy Ross
rosst@cmsd.k12.pa.us





 

 
 
School Closings and Delays


Please read our Web Site Terms of Use and Legal Restriction
Please report any problems or comments about the web site HERE
Copyright 2008
Canon-McMillan School District